The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Sat 28 Jan, 7.30pm

Join the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for an evening of sumptuous classical music. From Beethoven’s exhilarating and adventurous Overture to Fidelio to the mournful and sombre tone of Grieg’s Two Elegiac Melodies for String Orchestra, this concert brings together your favourite pieces. The RPO’s Principal Clarinet Katherine Lacy takes centre stage for Mozart’s charming Clarinet Concerto which recently place No.3 in Classic FM’s Ultimate Hall of Fame and the concert colludes with Mendelssohn’s ‘Scottish’ Symphony which evokes the wildness of the Highlands.

Closing the concert will be Mendelssohn’s Symphony No.3.  Inspired by his visit to Scotland as part of his ‘Grand Tour’, Mendelssohn’s ‘Scottish’ Symphony evokes the wildness of the Highlands with the spirit of the Romantic era.  

Conductor – Nicholas Cleobury

Clarinet – Katherine Lacy


BEETHOVEN Fidelio Overture    
GRIEG Two Elegiac Melodies for String Orchestra
MOZART Clarinet Concerto         
MENDELSSOHN Symphony No.3, 'Scottish'